Read The Plaque https://readtheplaque.com Always read the plaque en-us Hendrix House https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/hendrix-house https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/hendrix-house 2019-12-04 18:28:26.674437 Hendrix House Hendrix House

Submitted by

nealjennings

]]>
To the memory of Trim https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/to-the-memory-of-trim https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/to-the-memory-of-trim 2019-12-03 21:31:18.187098 To the memory of Trim To the memory of Trim

This is a companion plaque to the one beside Trim, Matthew Flinders' Intrepid Cat (https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/trim-matthew-flinders-intrepid-cat ), outside the State Gallery of New South Wales in Sydney.

TO THE MEMORY OF
TRIM
THE BEST AND MOST ILLUSTRIOUS OF HIS RACE,
THE MOST AFFECTIONATE OF FRIENDS,
FAITHFUL OF SERVANTS,
AND BEST OF CREATURES
HE MADE THE TOUR OF THE GLOBE, AND A VOYAGE TO AUSTRALIA
WHICH HE CIRCUMNAVIGATED, AND WAS EVER THE
DELIGHT AND PLEASURE OF HIS FELLOW VOYAGERS........
WRITTEN BY MATTHEW FLINDERS IN MEMORY OF HIS CAT
MEMORIAL DONATED BY THE NORTH SHORE HISTORICAL SOCIETY

]]>
A Bronzed Aussie and his Blue Heeler Dog https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/a-bronzed-aussie-and-his-blue-heeler-dog https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/a-bronzed-aussie-and-his-blue-heeler-dog 2019-12-02 05:36:57.023600 A Bronzed Aussie and his Blue Heeler Dog A Bronzed Aussie and his Blue Heeler Dog



Submitted by @_marty_k

]]>
The Federals Occupy Port Gibson https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-federals-occupy-port-gibson https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-federals-occupy-port-gibson 2019-12-01 20:32:15.831527 The Federals Occupy Port Gibson The Federals Occupy Port Gibson

 About dark on May 1, 1863, Gen. W. E. Baldwin's Confederates retreated through Port Gibson. After crossing the suspension bridge over Little Bayou Pierre, the Confederates set it afire. On the morning of the 2d. the Union army entered the beautiful little city of 1,500, and Gen. S.G. Burbridge raised the "stars and stripes" over the Claiborne County Courthouse. While Gen. U.S. Grant put his engineers to work building a raft-bridge across the stream, the rest of the Union troops took a welcomed break. Churches, inns and houses were turned into hospitals to shelter the hundreds of wounded "Yanks" and "Rebs."

The raft-bridge was declared open for traffic at 4 P. M. Gen. J. B. McPherson's XVII Corps crossed the Little Bayou Pierre en route to Grindstone Ford. By noon on May 3 most of the Union army had marched on.

Union victory at the battle of Port Gibson secured Grant's bridgehead east of the Mississippi.

]]>
Bayou Pierre Presbyterian Church https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/bayou-pierre-presbyterian-church https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/bayou-pierre-presbyterian-church 2019-12-01 20:31:49.292707 Bayou Pierre Presbyterian Church Bayou Pierre Presbyterian Church

Following the arrival of Presbyterian missionaries in 1801, Joseph Bullen and James Smylie organized the Bayou Pierre Church at this site in 1807. After part of the congregation formed the Bethel Church southwest of here in 1824, the remaining members moved to Port Gibson. The church was renamed First Presbyterian Church of Port Gibson in 1828. During the Battle of Port Gibson, fought on May 1, 1863, the 20th Alabama Infantry was posted here, anchoring the right flank of Confederate Brig. General Edward D. Tracy's Brigade.

]]>
Battle of Port Gibson - A.K. Shaifer House https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/battle-of-port-gibson-a-k-shaifer-house https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/battle-of-port-gibson-a-k-shaifer-house 2019-12-01 20:29:45.644536 Battle of Port Gibson - A.K. Shaifer House Battle of Port Gibson - A.K. Shaifer House

Confederate Gen. Martin E. Green on the afternoon of April 30, 1863, posted his brigade near Magnolia Church, with an outpost here. Shortly after midnight. Green rode forward to check on his pickets. Reaching this point, the general found Mrs. A. K. Shaifer and the ladies of the house frantically piling their household effects on a wagon. Green assured the women that there was no need to hurry, since the Yankees couldn't possibly arrive before daybreak. Hardly had Green spoken before there was a crash of musketry -- the pickets had exchanged shots with the Union vanguard,' soldiers of the 21st Iowa. The women leaped into the wagon and headed for Port Gibson, while Gen. Green returned to Magnolia Church to alert his troops. The Confederate pickets fell back before the Federal advance. During the Battle of Port Gibson, the Shaifer house served as Gen. John A. McClernand's GHQ and a Union hospital.

]]>
Kaibab Trail Suspension Bridge https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/kaibab-trail-suspension-bridge https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/kaibab-trail-suspension-bridge 2019-12-01 20:29:40.793608 Kaibab Trail Suspension Bridge Kaibab Trail Suspension Bridge

]]>
Leon Olson https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/leon-olson https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/leon-olson 2019-11-30 01:55:11.420309 Leon Olson Leon Olson

Leon Olson loved to walk here.

https://oaklandwiki.org/Leon_Olson

]]>
Al Capp Amphitheater https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/al-capp-amphitheater https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/al-capp-amphitheater 2019-11-26 18:22:16.294976 Al Capp Amphitheater Al Capp Amphitheater

Submitted by @beckerben

]]>
Abigail Adams Birthplace https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/abigail-adams-birthplace https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/abigail-adams-birthplace 2019-11-23 00:32:03.184270 Abigail Adams Birthplace Abigail Adams Birthplace

ABIGAIL ADAMS 
BIRTHPLACE 
ABIGAIL SMITH ADAMS, 
THE WIFE OF JOHN 
ADAMS, 2ND PRESIDENT, 
AND MOTHER OF JOHN 
QUINCY ADAMS, 6TH 
PRESIDENT, WAS BORN 
HERE IN 1744. 

Submitted by @MaryAnnHogan525

]]>